The Buffalo Harvest: A Case for Deselection and Historical archiving

Infant as Primitive Abstraction Devoid of HumanityThis is another book I found when I began my first MLIS’d job at the Zanetti Library (thank goodness this library is now fabulous  – thanks to many people, not to mention a  Laura Bush Grant to diversify its collection.)

The Buffalo Harvest  (copyright 1952) was  a book I pulled right away and kept for the shock value. Truth be told, I believe the author was respectful of the history but the illustrations tell another story. Just look at the grimacing faces of the adults! Even the infant looks like something out of The Walking Dead or he needs an exorcism.Native Americans drawn as a primitive abstraction

The faces of the men are not much different from the horses. This is a sad, sad book. 😦

Leave a comment

Filed under deselection, Uncategorized

Comments are closed.